Paula Scher’s Typographic Maps

Today, I crawl out from under my rock and discover something that everyone else seems to have known for half a decade or longer. Paula Scher is a fantastically talented designer of many things and a master of typography. She also makes maps. I love maps. I also love typography. And I love intricate details. Paula Scher’s detailed typographic maps are like the pbj (what, peanut + butter + jelly = 3) of my dreams.

paula-scher-maps-nyc-chelsea-tsunami

As you would expect from someone so talented, she’s also able to artfully articulate ideas that get to the heart of creativity and conception:

“How can it be that you talk to someone and it’s done in a second? But it IS done in a second — it’s done in a second and 34 years. It’s done in a second and every experience, and every movie, and every thing in my life that’s in my head.”

Her TED talk should not be missed and you can pick up her book MAPS here. ( She’s also got three cool little mini journals available here.)qmc_paula_620_0

Leave a Reply

