Frank’s Adventures, update!

Frank's Adventures - Yoga DeerI’ve had a breakthrough with Frank’s Adventures! I’ve been struggling with choosing the style in which to illustrate the story and after much research, nail-biting, and false starts, I finally decided on the style you see in the illustration above. My process is to hand-draw with pen and ink on paper, scan the drawing into Photoshop and use the pen tool and paintbrush to digitize and colorize.

I’m really happy with the results! As with most things for me, the hardest part is figuring out HOW to do what I WANT to do. Once I sort through the process, the rest is cupcakes and icing. With sprinkles.

Over the next week, I plan to rework the other two drawings I had done previously for the story (Frank’s Adventures – The Bunny Gang and Frank Gets the Upper Hand). * Once I have three drawings pretty much done, I’ll list the Kickstarter to start the book publication process!!

*As an aside, it’s fascinating to me how much I am learning every day. My illustrations have evolved in ways I never expected and my Photoshop skills have increased by leaps and bounds! It’s amazing what’s possible when you follow your dreams. What’s the most important lesson so far? Never short-sell yourself. Never settle. You get one life. Live it to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

