Cardinal bird house, classes and flying faster

In doing research today, I discovered Lilla Rogers’ Make Art That Sells bootcamp/workshop. The next one isn’t until next year, but as soon as I can register for it, I plan to. It looks amazing and provides some hands on learning, a community, and valuable direct feedback from a working professional that I admire. I’m pretty excited about it.

Every time I do any research, I feel like the Grinch on Christmas Eve, except it’s my brain swelling up 4x too big instead of my heart. Luckily the encephalitic response seems to dissipate after a bit and I go back to being my normal, sharp-but-slightly-spacey self.  There is so much out there available to learn from and it’s been a challenge to find the things that are helpful, but not time sucking money wasters.

Today was spent mostly learning lots of new things, which led me to work on this image. I’d sketched it a few months ago, but never colorized it or added lettering. There’s still some more work to be done on it. The window frame and wheel are too dark and drag the eye towards them unnecessarily. I’d like to expand it and work on some companion images to go with it, like some related icons.

I meant to work on Frank’s Adventures sketches today, but this got my attention instead. I’ll focus on Frank tomorrow, I think.

Also, PS, my birthday is Saturday. Given that my grandmother lived to be 88 and I will be turning 45, this means that I am officially in my downhill years. I don’t say that in a negative way, far from it. When I’m cycling, the downhills are my favorite. You get to fly fast with little effort and fly even faster with great effort. Since flying fast is something I live for and take exquisite joy from, this means that I am officially beginning the best years of my life. Happy birthday to me.

cardinal home

Leave a Reply

