Getting a kickstart

I’ve decided to put together a Kickstarter for the Frank’s Adventures series/book. I’m going to put together the budget and timeframes along with a video of Frank “adventuring”, then list it up on Kickstarter in the next couple of weeks! Some of the rewards will be vinyl die-cut stickers, buttons, hand-made wood magnets, fine-art prints and, of course, the BOOK itself. I found a company online that will let me self-publish, whilst retaining all profit and rights, for a reasonable amount. I plan to donate $3 for each book sale to Sugar Mutts Rescue (where I adopted Frank), too.

Frank and the BunniesI came up with another goal for myself this week: mentoring. In my market research, I’ve come across a few artists whose aesthetic, skills, and/or business sense has really impressed me. Since we all know it’s easier to build something with a team than by going it alone, I decided to reach out to each of them and ask for help. This, for those of you who know me well, is not exactly in my character. I tend to be a “I CAN DO IT MYSELF” person. But, I’m all about change and growth so why forge the hard, solitary path when I can walk in other’s footsteps who’ve blazed the trail already?

Goal one for the week, reading, is done.

Goal two for the week, researching licensing agencies and starting a list, is done.

Goal three for the week, putting together a list of the ten drawings to focus on and rework, is well underway. I’ve got nine I feel really strongly about, three of which I’ve already started colorizing (you saw the teapot yesterday):

  • Apple Pie
  • Chicken Soup
  • Doughnut
  • French Fries
  • Garlic
  • Teapot
  • Birdhouse
  • Common Gull
  • Crab (needs to be reworked, but the idea is there)

And, I think I’ll make a seashell themed drawing to round out the bunch.

Goal four for the week, mentoring, is in progress. This’ll be another fluid goal, similar to the reading/researching.

Boy, this accountability is really helping me. I suddenly feel like I have a zillion things I want to do, ten zillion things I need to do, and tons of energy to work on them. Now I just need more time!

Leave a Reply

